Readify

Donny Ray Black–Great Benefit insurance relationship

The Rainmaker

Donny Ray Black’s relationship with Great Benefit Life Insurance Company turned on the gap between the treatment his policy covered and the company’s repeated refusals to pay for it. His claim for a bone marrow transplant was denied even though the policy did not exclude the procedure and the company knew his leukemia was terminal. The dispute became more than an individual coverage fight when trial evidence linked his case to an organized practice of denying claims and delaying their review.

Policy and Claims

The policy belonged to a kind of low-cost, door-to-door coverage known as debit insurance. Agents collected premiums from policyholders, including people with limited resources, and recorded payments in their books. The business model mattered to Donny Ray’s case because customers facing a denial might have little money or confidence to pursue a legal challenge. An early account of bad-faith insurance litigation estimated that only about one in thirty denials ended in court; Jackie Lemancyzk later described the company’s working assumption as no more than one in twenty-five claimants consulting a lawyer.

Evidence about Great Benefit Life Insurance Company’s claims process showed how a denial could persist without any single letter explaining the full course of events. After a claim arrived, a handler could deny it, request five years of medical records, and send a further letter saying that the claim remained under review. The file then moved between claims and underwriting, with one department’s memo instructing the other not to pay until further notice. The departments operated within the same company but, according to the account of the process, often knew little about one another’s work. For a policyholder, the result was an accumulating sequence of letters while payment remained blocked.

Cooper Jackson described the same structure through his experience with other Great Benefit disputes: initial denials, medical-record requests, more correspondence, and a final impasse between the departments. The claims and underwriting manuals he showed Rudy Baylor contained a Section U that laid out the paired instructions. The versions produced to Rudy in discovery lacked that section. Comparing Jackson’s manuals with the discovery copies allowed Rudy to recognize that the missing provisions connected the separate steps into a procedure for keeping claims unpaid while documenting the company’s handling of them.

Donny Ray’s Claim

Donny Ray’s case became especially serious for the company after the claims department identified his acute leukemia and recognized that his policy did not exclude bone marrow transplantation. Jackie testified that the Black claim was initially denied under the general practice, but that its large potential cost and Donny Ray’s terminal illness brought it under closer attention. She said that she knew the medical records showed he would eventually die without a transplant, and that she passed this information to Russell Krokit, who in turn showed it to Everett Lufkin, the vice president responsible for claims. According to her testimony, the company continued the denial despite knowing the claim should be paid.

The denial letters made the policy dispute concrete. The fourth denial, signed by senior claims examiner Richard Pellrod and sent to Dot Black, treated Donny Ray’s leukemia as a preexisting condition. Under questioning, Pellrod acknowledged that the letter identified the flu as the preexisting condition, although the flu had occurred years earlier and was unrelated to the leukemia. He called the letter a mistake and could not tell Dot that the claim had been handled fairly. The inconsistency made the paperwork itself evidence: the stated reason for refusing treatment did not match the illness for which the family had sought coverage.

Trial Evidence and Corporate Practice

Jackie’s testimony placed Donny Ray’s individual claim inside a broader policy. She said that beginning January 1, 1991, Great Benefit adopted a twelve-month experiment of denying every claim over one thousand dollars, regardless of its legitimacy. Some smaller claims were also ultimately denied when the company could identify an arguable reason; larger claims were sometimes paid only after a policyholder hired a lawyer. Jackie estimated that the experiment generated about forty million dollars in additional funds. Her account connected the company’s financial incentive to the repeated refusal and delay that the Blacks experienced.

Other testimony sharpened the conflict over what the policy promised. Payton Reisky, an insurance-industry expert called by the defense, argued that a policy costing eighteen dollars a week could not reasonably be expected to pay for a transplant costing two hundred thousand dollars. Walter Kord’s testimony, by contrast, supported the medical value of transplantation; the defense had not offered contrary proof that the procedure was experimental. Great Benefit’s own policy language was also significant: the transplant was not excluded from the Black policy, while later language did exclude it. The timing of that change was not established in the testimony described here, but the contrast supported Rudy’s argument that the original policy did not bar the treatment.

In closing, Rudy presented the company’s 1991 policy, claims, and denial numbers on a chalkboard, linking them to Jackie’s account of the yearlong experiment. He also used Great Benefit’s financial figures: available cash, reserves, and undistributed surpluses totaled four hundred seventy-five million dollars, while the company’s stated net worth was four hundred fifty million. Those figures framed the demand for punitive damages as a question of meaningful deterrence, rather than simply repayment of a claim.

Significance of the Relationship

The dispute exposed how the practical value of insurance depends on more than the words in a policy. Great Benefit’s procedures could make a covered benefit inaccessible through initial denials, repeated review, and responsibility divided between departments. In Donny Ray’s case, that machinery operated against a family seeking treatment for a terminal illness, while company employees knew both the medical stakes and the policy’s coverage. His relationship with the insurer therefore became the central example of how institutional incentives and paperwork could turn a promise of protection into an obstacle to care.